Welcome Service Tirol

The Welcome Service Tirol is the first point of contact for Tyrolean companies and universities and their international, highly qualified employees.

© Standortagentur Tirol

The Tyrol: facts and figures


  • Area: 12,648 km²
  • Second most westerly and third largest federal state of the Republic of Austria
  • Shared borders with Germany, Switzerland and Italy and with the Austrian federal states of Vorarlberg, Salzburg and Carinthia
  • Capital Innsbruck (130000 inhabitants, about a quarter of them students)
  • Nine administrative districts: Reutte, Landeck, Imst, Innsbruck-Land, Innsbruck, Schwaz, Kufstein, Kitzbühel, Osttirol
  • Mixed alpine-urban environment with around 600 mountain peaks above 3000 metres above sea-level; only about 11 % of the total area suitable for permanent settlement


  •  751000 inhabitants
  •  Official language: German 

The economy

>>find Current data (WKO - Wirtschaftskammer Österreich)


University of Innsbruck, 16 faculties with study programmes in engineering and architecture, natural sciences, humanities, social sciences and law,
Medical University of Innsbruck 
UMIT - Private University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and Technology
health university of applied sciences tyrol
FH Kufstein Tirol - University of Applied Sciences
MCI - The Entrepreneurial University
KPH Edith Stein
University College of Teacher Education Tyrol

The eight Tyrolean universities have established the Tyrolean Conference for Higher Education in the interest of coordination, networking and strategic orientation.