Welcome Service Tirol

The Welcome Service Tirol is the first point of contact for Tyrolean companies and universities and their international, highly qualified employees.

© Standortagentur Tirol


For citizens of other EU/EEA countries and Switzerland, thanks to the principle of the free movement of persons, entering and establishing residence in Austria is a very straightforward affair involving minimal administrative requirements.

For citizens of third countries (all countries except EU countries, EEA countries and Switzerland), entry and, in particular, the establishment of residence is far more complicated.

We are happy to advise on the subject of possible titles to residence and to provide assistance with the applications!

Immigration from EU/EEA/Switzerland

Austria is a member of the European Union, and the principle of the free movement of persons applies. This means that citizens of other EU states may move freely in Austria, establish residence and take up employment.

find out more

Immigration from third countries

For citizens of third countries, i.e. persons who are not citizens of the EU or EEA or Switzerland, it is much more complicated to establish residence in the Tyrol.

find out more